Administrative control

The statutes effective as of 01.01.2009 allow for an administrative control of persons on leave owing to sickness or accident to be carried out by the National Health Fund (CNS) both for the period when the employer is responsible for the payment of sickness benefits (continued payment of wages) and after the CNS has assumed responsibility for payments of cash benefits.

The controls may be initiated by either the person's employer or by the service "Enquêtes et Contrôles administratifs" of the CNS.

A request from the employer must be submitted to the competent service of the CNS in written form, either by e-mail or fax.

 

Request procedure

The Online request form must be duly filled out by the employer and submitted by either e-mail or fax.

All the fields in the form must be completed and the request must be justified.

Once the CNS has received the form, the employer will receive a confirmation.

 

Control

The control consists of a visit to the home or current place of stay of the person reported incapable of work.

Should the person subject to the control be absent at the time of the visit, they will be considered to be in contravention of CNS statutes. In this case, the CNS agent will leave a notification with a reply form, inviting the person in question to provide a written justification of absence within three days of the visit, the date of the postmark of the letter being taken as evidence of the day the letter was sent.

These controls are carried out only on persons reported incapable of work owing to sickness or accident and who are supposed to remain at home and have not been given authorisation to leave their house; controls may also be carried out in public places.

 

Outcome of the control

In cases where the person subject to the control is absent at the time of the control and is not able to provide justification in the manner and within the time period laid down, their dossier will be examined as part of an investigation by the CNS, which can issue an administrative penalty.

The employer of the person subject to the control is notified by fax, mail or any other suitable written means when suspicion of a contravention of the statutes is confirmed by the fact that the person subject to the control provides no valid explanation of absence in the manner and within the time period laid down for the purpose.

The CNS services check whether the explanation of absence is founded. The CNS will pursue all doubtful cases.

In situations in which the control establishes that contraventions of another kind has taken place (practising a sport or activity which is not permitted, going out during the first five days of sickness, and/or going to non-authorised locations etc.) the relevant facts will be recorded by the CNS agent in his report.

 

Sanctions taken by the President of the CNS

The sanctions imposed by the President of the CNS for contravention of the statutes consist of administrative fines. These fines may be increased in the case of a recurring offence.

The person concerned may file an objection against the decisions on measures taken by the Council of Administration or they may appeal to the social courts.

 

List of sanctions imposed

Employers involved in a labour dispute with an employee on a charge of abusive absenteeism, and labour tribunals or social tribunals involved in litigation, may request from the CNS a list of sanctions incurred by the insured person in question following charges of abusive absenteeism.

Such lists contain no medical data and are confined to a listing of sanctions not open to appeal or judged as final and binding in the course of the 12 months prior to the time the request was filed.

 

Notice

The complete text of the relevant statutory provisions (viz. articles 191 to 217) may be consulted following the link provided below under "More information".

Only the legal texts published in official form are legally binding.

 

Last update

Contrôle administratif des malades

Les statuts mis en place avec effet au 1er janvier 2009 prévoient qu'un contrôle administratif des personnes en arrêt de travail pour cause de maladie ou d'accident peut être effectué par la Caisse nationale de santé (CNS) tant pendant la période où la charge de l'indemnisation demeure chez l'employeur (Lohnfortzahlung) que pendant celle où la CNS prend en charge l'indemnité pécuniaire.

Les contrôles peuvent être déclenchés sur initiative du Service Enquêtes et Contrôles Administratifs de la CNS aussi bien que sur demande motivée de l'employeur.

La demande de l'employeur doit être introduite par écrit au moyen d'un courriel (E-mail) ou par fax adressé au service compétent de la CNS.

 

Procédure de demande

Le formulaire de demande Online doit être dûment rempli par l'employeur et envoyé par courriel ou fax.

Le formulaire doit être rempli dans toutes ses rubriques et la demande doit être motivée.

Dès réception par la CNS, l'employeur reçoit une confirmation.  

 

Le contrôle

Le contrôle consiste dans une visite au domicile ou au lieu de séjour de la personne portée incapable de travailler.

La personne contrôlée est présumée être en contravention avec les statuts de la CNS si elle ne se trouve pas à son adresse au moment du contrôle. En cas d'absence, le contrôleur laisse à l'adresse de la personne contrôlée une notice avec envoi-réponse, l'invitant à justifier le motif de son absence par écrit, ce dans les trois jours du contrôle, le cachet de la poste faisant foi.

Des contrôles au domicile ne seront effectués que dans les situations où la personne portée incapable de travailler pour cause de maladie ou d'accident est censée se trouver à son domicile et ne dispose pas d'une autorisation de sortie. Des contrôles peuvent également être effectués dans les lieux publics.

 

Le résultat du contrôle

Dans les situations où la personne contrôlée est absente au moment du contrôle et où elle ne produit pas de justification dans les formes et délais prescrits, le dossier fait l'objet d'une instruction par la CNS qui peut prononcer des amendes d'ordre.

Lorsque la présomption de contravention aux statuts se vérifie par le fait qu'aucun motif valable pour expliquer son absence n'a été fourni par la personne contrôlée dans le délai et la forme impartis, l'employeur est informé par fax, courriel ou tout moyen écrit approprié du résultat du contrôle après révolution du délai dont dispose l'assuré pour expliquer son absence.

Les services de la CNS vérifient le bien-fondé des justifications produites. En cas de doute, les affaires seront instruites par la CNS.

Dans certaines situations où le contrôle fait état de contraventions d'autre nature (exercice de sport ou d'activités non permises, sortie pendant les 5 premiers jours de maladie ou aux heures/endroits non autorisés, etc.), ces faits sont consignés dans le procès-verbal dressé par le contrôleur.

 

Les sanctions prononcées par le Président de la CNS

Les sanctions prononcées par le Président de la CNS en cas de contravention aux statuts consistent en des amendes d'ordre. Des amendes d'ordre plus sévères peuvent être prononcées en cas de récidive.

Les décisions de sanction prononcées par le comité-directeur peuvent être frappées d'opposition ou de recours devant les juridictions sociales.

 

Relevé des sanctions

Les employeurs qui se trouvent en litige du travail avec un salarié du chef d'absentéisme présumé abusif, de même que les juridictions du travail ou sociales saisies d'un litige, peuvent demander à la CNS un relevé des sanctions définitives encourues du chef d'absentéisme abusif d'un assuré.

Ces relevés ne contiennent pas de données médicales et se limitent à l'énumération des sanctions définitivement acquises ou coulées en force de chose jugée relevées au courant des 12 derniers mois écoulés depuis la demande précédemment évoquée.

 

Notice

Le texte intégral des dispositions statutaires applicables (articles 191 à 217) peut être consulté sous Pour en savoir plus

Seul le texte officiel des statuts fait foi.

Dernière mise à jour