Transportation by air

Transportation by air consists of:

  • transportation carried out within the scope of the agreement concluded between the CNS and Luxembourg Air Rescue;
  • emergency helicopter evacuation carried out by the public authorities of a neighbouring state at the request of the national centre for emergency assistance;
  • evacuation carried out under exceptional circumstances by public or private transport services.

General and particular conditions

File B6, annex A of the CNS statutes provides for the situations where the health insurance covers transport and travel services. In all situations covered by the file B6, travel and transportation costs are not covered beyond a distance of a maximum of 400 km for the outbound journey. In exceptional cases, the CNS can authorise coverage requested with a detailed medical report issued by the treating doctor and with a prior authorisation from the CMSS for travel and transportartion costs up to a distance of 600 km for the outbound journey.

With the exception of emergency cases duly justified or except if the CNS statutes provide for a specific derogation, a prior authorisation from the Medical Board of the Social Security CMSS is always required in order to cover transport services abroad.

Transport by air in life-threatening cases (level I emergency)

Emergency evacuation by helicopter in life-threatening cases (level I emergency) is covered, provided that the emergency is documented in the official service report (procès-verbal d'intervention). This document is issued in accordance with the provisions provided for, in the agreement between the health insurance and the services responsible for dispatching or carrying out these transportations.  

Transport by air outside of a life-threatening situation

Air transport which is dispatched without the involvement of the national centre for emergency assistance is only covered, when a prior medical prescription issued by the treating doctor explicitly states the reasons, which make the use of an ambulance service impracticable. If the air transport is not carried out by Luxembourg Air Rescue, a prior authorisation must be given by the CNS in each individual case.

Terms of coverage

Transport by air in life-threatening cases (level I emergency)

The costs of transportation by air are directly covered by the CNS under the third party payment system provided that the emergency situation is recognised.

Transport by air outside of a life-threatening situation

Transportations by air duly authorised outside of a life-threatening situation are covered directly by the CNS under the third party payment system.

Last update

Transport en avion ou hélicoptère

Le transport aérien comprend:

  • le transport effectué dans le cadre de la convention conclue entre la Caisse nationale de santé et Luxembourg Air Rescue;
  • le transport effectué par un hélicoptère de secours dépêché en cas d'urgence par les autorités publiques d'un Etat limitrophe sur intervention du central des secours d'urgence national;
  • le transport effectué dans des situations exceptionnelles par des services de transport aérien publics ou privés.

Conditions générales et particulières

Le fichier B6 de l’annexe A des statuts de la CNS prévoit les situations dans lesquelles l’assurance maladie prend en charge les prestations de transport et de voyage. Dans toutes les situations visées par la liste dénommée « fichier B6 » annexée aux statuts, les frais de voyage et de transport ne sont pris en charge que jusqu'à concurrence d'une distance maximale de 400 km à l'aller. Exceptionnellement, la CNS peut accorder la prise en charge demandée sur base d'un rapport médical circonstancié du médecin traitant et d'une autorisation préalable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale pour des frais de voyage et de transport pour une distance de 600 km à l'aller.

Sauf en cas d'urgence dûment motivée ou dérogation expressément prévue par les statuts de la CNS, une autorisation préalable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale est requise pour la prise en charge des prestations de transport à l'étranger.

Transports par air pour une urgence en cas de détresse vitale (urgence degré I)

Les transports en hélicoptère pour une urgence en cas de détresse vitale (urgence degré I) sont pris en charge à condition que cette urgence soit documentée dans le procès-verbal d'intervention communiqué conformément aux dispositions réglant les rapports entre l'assurance maladie et les services compétents pour dépêcher ou effectuer ces transports.

Transports par air en dehors de situation d’urgence degré I

Le transport par air dépêché en dehors de l'intervention du central des secours d'urgence n'est pris en charge que si une ordonnance médicale préalable, émise par le médecin traitant, indique les raisons médicales pour lesquelles un transport par ambulance est impraticable. Lorsque le transporteur aérien n'est pas Luxembourg Air Rescue, une autorisation préalable expresse doit être donnée dans chaque cas individuel par la Caisse nationale de santé.

Modalités de prise en charge

Transports par air pour une urgence en cas de détresse vitale (urgence degré I)

Les transports aériens sont pris en charge directement par la Caisse nationale de santé par la voie du tiers payant à condition que la situation d'urgence soit reconnue.

Transports par air en dehors de situation d’urgence degré I

Les transports aériens dûment autorisés en dehors d’une situation d’urgence en cas de détresse vitale (urgence degré I) sont pris en charge directement par la Caisse nationale de santé par la voie du tiers payant.

Dernière mise à jour