Transportation by taxi

Transportation by taxi covered by the health insurance is possible in case of serial medical treatments. Transportation by taxi refers to the transportation of passengers as officially defined and according to the rules and regulations applicable to chauffeur driven taxi hire services and car hire services.

Transportation for serial medical treatments refers to multiple transfers of the insured person between their habitual place of residence and the place where they undergo a planned treatment consisting of at least four sessions within a period of ninety (90) days:

  • in a hospital for treatments focussing on chemotherapy, radiotherapy and haemodialysis;
  • in the national functional rehabilitation and readaptation centre or in the geriatric or cardiac rehabilitation unit of a hospital;
  • in a hospital for a special treatment which has been authorised by the Medical Board of the Social Security (Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale CMSS).

Conditions for coverage

The "File B6" from annex A of the CNS statutes provides for the situations where the health insurance covers transport and travel services. In all situations covered by the file B6, travel and transportation costs are not covered beyond a distance of a maximum of 400 km for the outbound journey. In exceptional cases, the CNS can authorise coverage requested with a detailed medical report issued by the treating doctor and with a prior authorisation from the CMSS for travel and transportartion costs up to a distance of 600 km for the outbound journey.

Prior authorisation from the Medical Board of the Social Security

With the exception of emergency cases duly justified or except if the CNS statutes provide for a specific derogation, a prior authorisation from the Medical Board of the Social Security CMSS is always required in order to cover transport services abroad. The same applies to serial transportations within Luxembourg.

Prior medical prescription

Serial transportation by taxi both in Luxembourg and abroad is covered, provided that a prior medical prescription issued by the treating doctor on a specific form and previously accepted by the Medical Board of the Social Security, specifies separately for the outward and return journeys the medical reasons which would make the use of public transport inappropriate.

The stipulations concerning a prior medical prescription and a prior authorisation by the Medical Board of the Social Security for the continuation of serial transportations are waived in the case of hospital treatment relating to chemotherapy, radiotherapy and haemodialysis.

Limits

Serial transportation by taxi for treatments in the national functional rehabilitation and readaptation centre or in a geriatric or cardiac reeducation unit of a hospital are covered for a maximum of twenty (20) days of treatment only.

 

Terms of coverage

The portion of the costs covered by the health insurance can be paid by the CNS directly to the transporter if, at the request of the insured person, a certificate of coverage (titre de prise en charge) has been issued prior to transport and if this certificate has been accepted by the transporter within the framework of the agreements provided for by the Social Security Code or, in the absence of an agreement, within the framework of the conditions for approval which define the relations between the CNS and the transporters.

The costs relating to transportation by taxi are covered only if the relevant services are provided by a supplier approved by the Council of Administration of the CNS.

 

The invoices related to said services can be covered by the health insurance if they provide for each journey the following information:

  • name of the transportation company,
  • the licence plate of the vehicle used,
  • the day and time of the journey,
  • the points of departure and arrival,
  • the mileage covered and the sum invoiced.
Last update

Transport en taxi

Le transport en taxi à charge de l'assurance maladie est possible en cas de traitements médicaux en série. Par transport en taxi on entend le transport de voyageurs au sens de la réglementation officielle applicable aux services de taxi et aux services des voitures de location avec chauffeurs.

Le transport en série vise des déplacements multiples de la personne protégée entre son lieu de séjour habituel et le lieu où elle obtient à charge de l’assurance maladie un traitement programmé comportant au moins quatre séances dans un intervalle de quatre-vingt-dix (90) jours :

  • dans un hôpital dans le domaine de la chimiothérapie, de la radiothérapie et de l’hémodialyse;
  • dans le centre national de rééducation fonctionnelle et de réadaptation ou dans un service de rééducation gériatrique ou cardiaque d’un hôpital;
  • dans un hôpital dans le cas où un traitement spécial est autorisé par le Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale.

Conditions de prise en charge

Le « fichier B6 » de l’annexe A des statuts de la CNS prévoit les situations dans lesquelles l’assurance maladie prend en charge les prestations de transport et de voyage. Dans toutes les situations visées par la liste dénommée « fichier B6 » annexée aux statuts, les frais de voyage et de transport ne sont pris en charge que jusqu'à concurrence d'une distance maximale de 400 km à l'aller. Exceptionnellement, la CNS peut accorder la prise en charge demandée sur base d'un rapport médical circonstancié du médecin traitant et d'une autorisation préalable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale pour des frais de voyage et de transport pour une distance de 600 km à l'aller.

Autorisation préalable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale

Sauf en cas d'urgence dûment motivée ou dérogation expressément prévue par les statuts, une autorisation préalable du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale est requise pour la prise en charge des prestations de transport à l'étranger. Il en est de même pour les transports en série à l'intérieur du pays.

Ordonnance médicale préalable

Les transports en série en taxi au Luxembourg et à l'étranger sont pris en charge à condition qu'une ordonnance médicale préalable, établie par le médecin traitant sur un formulaire spécial et acceptée préalablement par le Contrôle médical, spécifie séparément pour l'aller et pour le retour les raisons médicales pour lesquelles le déplacement par un moyen de transport public en commun n'est pas approprié.

Il est dérogé à la condition du caractère préalable tant de l'ordonnance médicale que de l'autorisation du Contrôle médical de la sécurité sociale pour les prolongations des transports en série pour les traitements dans un hôpital dans le domaine de la chimiothérapie, de la radiothérapie et de l’hémodialyse.

Limite

Les transports en série en taxi pour les traitements dans le centre national de rééducation fonctionnelle et de réadaptation ou dans un service de rééducation gériatrique ou cardiaque d’un hôpital ne sont pris en charge que pour un maximum de vingt (20) journées de traitement.

 

Modalités de prise en charge

La part des frais des prestations de transport à charge de l’assurance maladie peut être réglée directement par la Caisse nationale de santé au transporteur si, à la demande de la personne protégée, un titre de prise en charge a été émis par la CNS préalablement au transport et a été accepté par le transporteur dans le cadre des conventions prévues par le Code de la sécurité sociale ou, en l'absence de convention, dans le cadre des conditions d'agrément réglant les rapports entre la Caisse nationale de santé et les transporteurs.

Les frais de transport en taxi ne sont pris en charge qu'à la condition que les prestations afférentes sont délivrées par un fournisseur agréé par le Comité directeur de la Caisse nationale de santé.

Les factures relatives à ces prestations ne sont opposables à l'assurance maladie que si elles contiennent pour chaque trajet effectué les données suivantes :

  • le nom de l'entreprise;
  • la plaque minéralogique du véhicule utilisé;
  • la date et l'heure de la course;
  • les lieux de départ et d'arrivée;
  • le kilométrage et le prix facturé.
Dernière mise à jour