Adopting a child

Beneficiary and duration

When two spouses adopt a child who has not yet reached 12 years of age, the adopting parent - whether he or she is employed or self-employed - has the right to an adoption leave of 12 weeks, provided that he or she has been a member of the health insurance scheme for a mandatory qualifying period of at least six of the twelve months prior to the anticipated adoption leave.

If both parents are entitled to adoption leave, they must designate by common agreement the one who will request the adoption leave.

If the adoption leave has been requested and granted to one parent, the other parent may no longer request it.

Formalities

A certificate issued by the tribunal showing that adoption proceedings have been initiated (request for adoption) or alternatively, the agreement from the Ministry of Family Affairs that proceedings may take place, must be submitted.

The parent requesting the adoption leave must attach their contact details as well as the beginning date of the adoption leave to their request.

Self employed parents receive a form" declaration of honour" by the CNS which has to be returned duly filled out and signed.  Through this  form the claimant declares interrupting their professional activity during their adoption leave and provides the date

Terms of payment

For both salaried and non-salaried workers, the level of adoption leave allowance corresponds to that applicable in the case of sickness or accident.

The monthly allowance is not to exceed the current minimum wage (used for this purpose as a benchmark) by more than a factor of five.

Last update

Adopter un enfant

Bénéficiaires et durée

En cas d'adoption par deux conjoints d'un enfant n'ayant pas atteint l'âge de douze ans accomplis, le parent salarié ou indépendant ayant accompli un stage d'affiliation à titre obligatoire pendant six mois au moins au cours des 12 derniers mois précédant le congé d'accueil a droit à un congé d'accueil de 8 semaines, qui peut être porté à 12 semaines en cas d'adoption multiple.

Si les deux parents remplissent les conditions d'octroi d'un congé d'accueil, ils désignent d'un commun accord celui qui sollicite le congé d'accueil.

Si le congé a été sollicité et accordé à un parent, il ne peut plus être sollicité par l'autre parent.

Formalités

Une attestation délivrée par le tribunal selon laquelle la procédure d'adoption est introduite (requête en adoption) ou l'accord à la poursuite de la procédure établi par le Ministère de l'Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse doit être présentée à la CNS.

Le parent sollicitant le congé d'accueil doit joindre ses coordonnées ainsi que la date de début du congé d'accueil à la demande.

Le parent exercant une activité indépendante reçoit alors de la part de la CNS un formulaire « attestation sur honneur » qui est à retourner dûment rempli et signé. A travers ce formulaire le demandeur déclare interrompre son activité professionnelle pendant la durée du congé d’accueil et communique la date à laquelle il va reprendre son activité.

Modalités de paiement

Pendant son congé d’accueil, le salarié ou l'indépendant a droit à une indemnité pécuniaire versée par la CNS. L’indemnité pécuniaire d’accueil est déterminée de la même façon que l’indemnité pécuniaire de maladie.

L'indemnité mensuelle ne saurait dépasser le quintuple du salaire social minimum de référence.

 

 

 

Dernière mise à jour